Thank you for submitting your review. It will be processed shortly!
Alexandria, Encinitas, CA says
This condo was so much better and beautiful than we ever originally thought! The view itself is stunning and always provided entertainment as there are so many sea turtles you can watch from the balcony. The location is close to poipu and walking distance to shipwrecks and poipu beach, you can also easily walk over to brennekes which serves coffee and has happy hour from 3-5. If you are going during peak season be mindful that you need to call or go early as businesses are still getting used to post COVID levels of tourists in the area! The condo does not have AC but it does have a great air flow that never really seemed to bother my family and I! The pool is small but great to jump in to cool off, also we used the grill a ton and even got to befriend some neighbors ???? thanks again for the stay and making such a beautiful and warm condo that I hope to come back to one day!
Cecilia D. says
The location right on the water was idyllic, with sea turtles swimming right under our balcony. The sunsets from our patio were mind-blowing, and sleeping to the sound of waves crashing on the rocky shore was a dream. The south of the island is so much quieter and less developed, therefore much more \"Hawaiian.\" Fantastic beach within walking distance... I would choose to stay there again in a heartbeat.
Beautiful location! We were able to see turtles eating in the ocean right outside the patio. Easy to walk to a couple different beaches. If we have the chance to go back to Poipu, we will definitely try to stay here again! The place provided beach towels and a some chairs and an umbrella for use. There is also a medium-sized cooler you can pack lunch/snacks with you. This was a nice addition, not having to rent any supplies for the beach. Although there is no A/C, there is great airflow through the main living areas. Also a fan is available. We had to use it in the bedroom with the twin beds to help cool it down. The kitchen was pretty well stocked with utensils, pots, and pans. We went to costco on the first full day, not too far from the condo. The Parrish group provided some reusable bags, so definitely be sure to put those in your car to avoid having to pay for paper bags when you go to the grocery store.
Mahalo Jenny for your review and comments. We are so happy that you got to enjoy the stunning views from Poipu Makai #A2. It is also wonderful to hear that you found everything you needed to help you feel right at home during your stay. The AOAO is considering allowing owners to add AC, so hopefully, that happens soon. Most of the time the ocean breezes keep things cool, but we do understand it can be warm sometimes. Apologies for any discomfort. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Aloha and a hui hou.
Daniel, Westerly, RI says
Can’t imagine a better view of the ocean. We saw dolphins and sea turtles every day. Very spacious and clean. Our only complaints were the tight parking (requires 7 point turns to get in and out) and the tiny pool (omitted from pictures).
Aloha Daniel, Mahalo for your review. We agree, a small car is best for this property. Actually, the pool photo is show if you scroll down a bit in the photo and we do list it as a “plunge pool” to set expectations right. Mahalo
Sharon C. says
Great view, quick response and friendliness of staff and property management personnel. Close location to beach and shopping.
Douglas E. says
Great view and quiet, only hear the surf
I can’t imagine a better view and location; peaceful and quiet on the Lanai. We could see turtles and occasional whales from there. Unit is well taken care of and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. We didn’t need A/C, but I imagine you would want it in the Summer. Ceiling and floor fans were helpful. Beach chairs as well.
Barb K. says
Happy we chose this part of Kauai, sun shone most of the time and very centrally located. Walked to beach, restaurants, and great walking trail very close to us.
DAVID L. says
Great view and close to activities.
Condo was nice. Could use some upgrades and tlc. Overall it was I nice condo to stay in.
Sharon C. says
Spice of Life without the spices
This is the most beautiful condo I’ve yet to stay in. The location is ideal and the condo is gorgeous! This condo deserves five stars “except” that the kitchen is not equipped to cook as there was only salt and pepper available. One of the reasons for staying in a condo is to have the luxury of a home kitchen to cook meals . It’s just not practical to have to go out and buy some basic cooking spices etc for a short stay. Other than this important gripe, it’s a heavenly unit!
Mahalo Sharon for your review and comments. We are so glad you enjoyed Poipu Makai A2. Actually, not leaving in miscellaneous spices and condiments is a conscious decision for sanitary reasons as well as things do not store well in the warm tropics for long periods. We are sorry for any inconvenience. Aloha and we look forward to hosting you again.
Amelia H. says
Absolutely horrible. Extremely dirty old smelly carpet, unit very outdated, total misrepresentation
We were sick when we walked in and had to upgrade to a more expensive unit. Will never use Parrish Kauia again. Very very large disappointment. Pictures were totally a lie! We had planned this for nine months and looked at so many pictures. So to walk in to this we were sick, very depressing! Shame on them and the owners!
Aloha Amelia, Thanks for the comments, but this is a little harsh and misleading. I see from the comments in the folio that you wanted to move because you wanted a newer unit and AC which this unit does not have. We broke the rules and upgraded you to a Premier unit (which is more updated) and has AC. We go to great lengths to show the unit in photographs as well as describe and rate the units. This unit is rated and priced as a Deluxe which by definition is not new. Since you wanted a new unit and AC, you should have picked one and/or asked prior to booking. Shame on you for not disclosing that side of the story. On a positive note, I am happy to say that the owners have installed new carpeting and continue to make other upgrades to their unit regularly.
Treise C. says
Nice condo with amazing views!!
Great place to stay in Poipu! Oceanfront view is amazing. Condo was clean although kitchen did have some tiny little ants so I always had to be on the look out for them and made sure food was wrapped up tight. I didn’t feel it was a big enough deal to call the management company during our stay but I alerted them on my departure. The condo has no air conditioning but it does have a number of ceiling fans to try and keep the place cool and opening the windows allows for a nice breeze. It could get quite warm at night and the crashing of the waves on the rocks could be loud. The pool on the premises is tiny, closed in and not really used, but you’re so close to beautiful beaches it’s really a nonissue. The kitchen was appointed with the basic cookware and utensils and that’s about it. Couches in the living area are small. The master bathroom sink in actually in the bedroom and only the toilet and shower are closed off. Beds were fairly comfortable. There were enough towels and also some beach gear like chairs and umberellas for use. There’s a small TV in the living room with cable, the TV in the master bedroom has no cable thus only a few channels and situated in cabinet that makes it hard to watch anyway. Who really goes to Kauai to watch TV though? One plus was having a washer and dryer but buy detergent or bring plenty of laundry pods!! Basically, if you want 5 star luxury, this is not the place, go stay at the Grand Hyatt down the road but plan on paying Hyatt prices!!. If you’re looking for a nice comfortable, clean, decent condo in a good location for your family with amazing views and at a good price, this is the spot!! I would definitely stay here again. We had an amazing sunset dinner on the balcony and it was absolutely beautiful. One morning we were sitting out drinking coffee and saw some dolphins swimming in the ocean. This place is just a little piece of paradise!
Mahalo Treise for your review and comments and glad you will come back. Ghost ants are irritating and we made sure to have the unit sprayed upon your departure. We apologize for any inconvenience. They best advice is to leave food in the fridge. We look forward to hosting you again soon. A hui hou.
Very nice view but accommodations were VERY dated.
Very nice view but accommodations were VERY dated.
Beautiful ocean front clean condo
Classy, Clean, Quiet
Great little getaway that makes you feel like you’re at a home away from home.
Jeffrey T. says
Not maintained as well as it should have been for the fees charged
This property does have a nice view however they show the view looking to the left out the lanai balcony because to the right there is a patio that the neighbors can view into your room when they are on it, thus not nearly as private as I would have thought. Maintenance wasn’t horrible but not up to the standard that I would have expected. Carpeting felt “stiff and crunchy” when walking across it. My white socks turned tan on the bottoms in no time. There was a dirty wash cloth draped over one of the shower curtain rods upon arrival. Garbage was left behind the garbage can from the last renters. The kitchen had stainless steel appliances that were covered in finger prints. Lastly, we called the office after the first day as water was leaking out onto our floor in front of the washer and dryer. I could hear the upstairs washer going from the renters above. I put a towel on the floor to catch the water. We never saw a repair or maintenance person regarding this issue. Maintenance was just off! The drive into the property was too steep causing a Camaro to bottom out a number of times. I’m sure we are not the only folks that felt this way. The beach was a little further than we thought. Not a horrible walk but further than we would have liked. Surprised how small the television was on this property! The property also had paper thin walls and ceilings because we could hear the upstairs renters and their children clearly. They were not being loud at all, it was a lack of sound insulation in the property. Don’t misunderstand me this unit did have a decent view. Perhaps our expectations were too high given we had just stayed on the Big Island at another unit that was truly incredible in every regard for considerably less money. We enjoyed our trip but the condo was average in my opinion.
Aloha Jeffrey, needless to say we are disappointed in your review. First and most importantly, we have no record of you calling. We have someone answering our phones phone 24/7 and are not sure how we would have missed a call or message with something as urgent as a water leak. Perhaps you called VRBO or someone else? I am surprised you did not call again, given the importance and know that we immediately respond to such situations, no matter when. In any event, the leak was later reported to us and dealt with. We apologize on the oversights on the clean for your stay, had we know about those as well, we would have immediately gotten someone over to address any housekeeping mistakes.
The property was a real gem. Situated on the point at Poipu the views were fantastic
Fantastic Oceanfront, South Kauai
This property is a spacious 2 bedroom apartment on the first level (or second if you’re non-Australian) no more than 50m from the ocean. This gives the property the most fantastic, uninterrupted views west to Poipu and beyond ensuring the best sunsets you will get in Kauai. It also provides you with a constant procession of sea life including turtles, spinner dolphins and whales (seasonal of course) which can be enjoyed from the spacious lanai. The property is tastefully decorated and very well equipped. Locality wise it’s about halfway between Poipu Beach and Shipwrecks.. Both are a little too far for an easy walk so if you don’t have a car this could be an issue (but only a very short ride with one). The property has a small pool and a good BBQ area. Shops and restaurant wise it’s again really a drive only proposition. The only negative to the property is the entrance/driveway which is badly designed and built ensuring a loaded, low clearance car will scrape badly. Otherwise it cannot be faulted. Rental is through the Parish Collection who are very professional and easy to deal with. As for the area; the south of Kauai and Poipu is truly beautiful/stunning. It was our first visit but definitely not our last. We would also stay at this property again (but not driving a Nissan Altima!)
Charlotte C says
Wonderful view and sounds of waves
Great condo with amazing views, right on the ocean. I loved resting to the sound of waves crashing and a nice breeze. We saw many sea turtles and some seals from our balcony. The pool is small but we weren’t concerned with using a pool at Poipu Beach. With any condo that does not offer air conditioning (most do not in Kauai), I recommend only 2nd floor and up, for better breeze. This condo is on the 2nd floor. You can count on the Parrish Collection for a great condo stay. They are my go-to rental agency for Kauai.
Needs an overhaul
This condo has so much potential, however it is in desperate need of a refresher. The entire place needs a new coat of paint and all the screens need to be replaced. They were falling out of some of the windows and we tried to secure them but nothing worked. This meant that some bugs made it inside (do not leave food on the kitchen counter). . Pro – The unit has beautiful views of the ocean with turtles and seals swimming about. Make use of the binoculars to check out the turtles! A few pairs of snorkels, goggles, and fins are available for your use as well. Snorkelling at Poipu beech is totally awesome! Sleeping with the balcony doors open and listening to the crashing waves was very nice. Lots of closet space to hang up your clothes. Washer and dryer in the unit came in handy. Bath and beach towels are supplied. Con – If you are looking for a place where you can lounge around the pool – go elsewhere. The pool here is just an oversize bathtub set in a fenced in area along with the communal bbq’s. Not very appealing. Go to the beach instead! As I mentioned earlier, the condo needs an overhaul. The furniture is still in good condition however. Washer and dryer are very handy but are circa 1970. Worked ok though. We did not spend very much time in the condo. We needed a place to hang up our clothes and to sleep at night. We were out and about exploring every day. All in all a good experience but would stay elsewhere next time. Folk at Parrish Collection were very kind and helpful. When we called to tell them that the living room floor lamp had toppled over and broke they sent someone over right away to remove it. The lighting in the living room wasn’t very good even with that lamp — new lighting is definately needed now.
Aloha, Thank you for choosing The Parrish Collection and taking the time to comment on your stay. Your thoughtful words regarding our kind staff and helpful service are very much appreciated. If and when we are advised that something needs attention during our guest’s stay, we strive to respond as quickly as possible and resolve the issue. The windows and screens are cleaned regularly and I apologize that you found the screens in need of attention. We have already had someone go in and repair and replace what was needed. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. In the future, feel free to let us know while you are here and we will attend to any issue with minimal disruption to your stay. In efforts to assist our guests in choosing a property to best fit their needs and expectations, we’ve developed an interior rating system for each property. This explains the variation between Premier Plus, Premier and ‘Deluxe’ such as this unit, “updated typically within the past ten years”. I’m pleased you found the furniture and the carpet in this unit in good condition (the carpet was just recently replaced). Our owners are constantly making improvements and investing in their properties to ensure the guest experience is as best as it can be. We will take a look at the paint to see if it does indeed need to be redone. The property has recently refurbished the pool and deck area outfitted it with all new furniture. Because of its size, we always have described as a ‘plunge pool’ used for cooling off on a summer afternoon. You can see in the photos on our website the pool and grounds. It is nice to hear that your visit was a good experience and we look forward to welcoming you back. Our reservation team has visited all our properties and is available seven days a week to assist you in choosing the perfect match for your future visits. Thank you again for submitting your comments…. Mahalo, The Parrish Collection Kauai Team.
Accommodations were very nice. Had concerns about carpet/cleanliness based on previous reviews but it was spotless. Pool was very small but didn’t matter to us, as we had much more on our agenda. It was very warm in the unit without a/C, but once we read the instructions to close the blinds during the day, that really helped. Overall, no complaints except that I wish the beach had been closer. It was a shirt drive, but farther than I cared to walk.
This was a great condo with a breathtaking view! Even knowing that the view would be wonderful did not prepare me for it! Love the lanai off the living room and also the double doors in the master bedroom (loved hearing the waves break on the rocks!) The kitchen was updated with granite countertops and the furniture and accessories were luxurious. Loved watching the turtles out the window as well as the kayakers. Such a peaceful retreat. Conveniently located to Poipu Beach. We will definitely stay here again! Great service from the Parrish collection!
Trip of a lifetime
We enjoyed our first visit to Kauai and the stay at Poipu Makai. It is about a 20 min walk to Poipu Beach park where there is good swimming and snorkeling. The condo was in excellent condition, wonderful view out. Ground area is small but the unit was very comfortable and the Parrish group was very responsive to our needs/questions.
Paradise with amazing views!
We spent a week in this beautiful condo and loved every minute. There’s no better way to go to sleep at night with the screen door open, listening to the waves crash right outside! The furnishings are stylish and beautiful (not your traditional boring corporate condo furnishings), and I would be hard pressed to imagine a better view than the ocean view from the condo lanai. The sunsets each evening were a true highlight of our trip, as was sitting on the lanai watching pods of whales frolic every single day. Convenient location to everything in Poipu (walk or 2 minute drive to Poipu Beach), but a nice quiet property, which we appreciated. We loved having the fully equipped kitchen to cook for our kids on nights when we didn’t want to go out to eat. Management was very quick to help us with a burned out lightbulb, and saved us in a pinch when we locked ourselves out accidentally!
British Columbia says
Not Living up to Expectations!
Positive feedback: location is good, kitchen was good (although cabinets have been installed incorrectly and are much too high), master bedroom had a wonderful bed and linen, good towels, good sink. Living room furniture comfortable. To be improved on: carpets need replacing immediately, housecleaning service were doing a very poor job (vacuum had not been emptied in quite some time), bathrooms need a very good thorough cleaning. While sleeping in the master, between the screen not closing properly from the lanai and getting attacked by mosquitoes, to the smell of mildew from the bathroom, a good night sleep was hard to get. Guests in second bedroom stated foam toppings of some type would help immensely with the beds. Little things like bathroom toilet paper -- you get better quality from gas stations!
Thank you for choosing The Parrish Collection for your recent Kauai visit and for taking the time to comment on your stay. We apologize that you encountered any area that fell below our standards. We strive to ensure our properties are well maintained and properly prepared. If there was an area that was missed and/or needed to be addressed, we wish you had let us know immediately as we would have worked to correct the issue. Our contact information is in the unit and we reach out to each guest after arrival each arrival. Unfortunately, we we’re unable to reach you and our records show that there was no response to our messages or subsequent calls. In the future, please be sure to reach out to us as we are here to ensure your stay is comfortable and satisfactory. With regards to the carpet, we have been working with the owner on selecting the right upgrade. In the meantime, we did try to clean it regularly and apologize that is was not up to our high standards. Please note that it is now scheduled for replacement. We’re glad you enjoyed your time on Kauai and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Aloha, The Parrish Collection
Qualicum Beach BC Can. says
This condo needs some work or at least some good cleaning.The carpets were so dirty and need to be replaced.Kitchen cabinets above most peoples reach, we finally left the glasses on the counter top. The lanai is great , parkings good too bad the rest wasn’t.
Aloha Anne, Thank you for choosing Parrish Kauai and for taking the time to comment. We do apologize for the condition of the carpet…we have been cleaning it as much as we can and working with the owner on replacement, but the selection process and installation took longer than anticipated. However I am happy to report that the carpeting throughout the unit has been replaced and is cleaned regularly. In addition, the cabinets in the kitchen were lowered to a more standard height for easier access. We value our customer feedback and work hard to meet their expectations. We take comments seriously and we want to thank you again for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo, Parrish Kauai
Everything needs to be spruced up. Lots of mildew in shady areas. A little bleach would do wonders. Lack of decent pool facilities is big negative
My group and I were so impressed with the condo. You never know really what you’re going to get, even though we had seen the pictures of the unit. It was exactly as described, super comfortable, tastefully decorated, and had an amazing view! We were there for some friends who got married at the Grand Hyatt, and were so glad to have stayed at our ocean front, comfortable and much more affordable condo! Some of our friends, either staying at the Hyatt or at other surrounding condos, were very impressed with our place, we definitely had the best one out of everyone. I found you guys simply by searching “vacation rentals” on Google and am so glad I found you. Overall we had an amazing experience and I can’t wait to come back and visit! Thank you for everything!
The experience was a good one. Nice condo and everything was clean and in good repair. The view was outstanding. We would likely have this location again, but maybe with a pool a little larger than the one in this location.
My wife and I knew Kauai would be very nice but when we got there and then saw our accomudations it was beyond our belief. We are coming back to watch the Whales. We have been telling several of our friends and family about Kauai and the Parrish Collection group. We truely got what we were looking for. Rick Palmer Colorado Springs, CO
New York says
Why did I have to leave?
The condo was fabulous in every way. Everyday we sat on the lanai for coffee and breakfast, then lunch. It was a great location to take day trips and it always felt like we were coming home. The complex was quiet. It was a 5 minute walk to the beach. We saw turtles from the lanai. Rainbows! Sunrises and sunsets. The condo had everything we needed. It was cool with the ocean breezes. No need for A/C (it had been a concern). I would highly recommend the condo and the company (the Parrish Collection). Hawaii is paradise.
The condo was beautifully furnished and equiped. We enjoyed the sunset views. We would recommend this condo.
Interlaken New Jersey says
Ocean Front Gem
We stayed for five nights in Kauai, it was perfect. The home is truly ocean front, and beautifully furnished. It was clean and fresh. I found the location to be perfect, totally relaxing. If you like to walk along the beach front you are in a great location. If you wish to just sit on your deck and stare at the ocean and the watch the sea turtles, whales and dolphins you can also do that. I would defintely go back to this unit.
Northern Michigan says
This was paradise! Wonderful condo, close to public beach and a great location. The views were exceptional, great value for your money. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.
Great location -- great sunsets on Hawaii’s most beautiful island.
"How did that snorkeler swim out so far? Oh, that's a turtle.."
The unit is spacious, clean, and well appointed, with panoramic ocean views. Coffee maker even has a timer so you can go jogging and have it waiting for you when you come back. Breaking surf can be heard clearly from the living room and master bedroom, and the property is on a finger of land that juts slightly into the sea. Bathrooms recently renovated and above hotel standards. Highly recommended.
The property was nicely furnished, it had a nice patio with amazing panoramic ocean views. It was located within walking distance of the Poipu beach area, but was also jammed in with a lot of other condos. From the balcony, you could easily see/hear folks in the next condo down.
Nice Condo at the ocean edge
First time staying at a condo in Kauai and found this one in great shape. Recent upgrades in the Kitchen and master bedroom were very nice and convienent. Being able to sit on the patio watching sea turtles rise in the waves over our coffee was so relaxing. The kids enjoyed the grounds and found geckos and flowers. Poipu Beach was minutes away by car and a 10 minute walk. This was very key to an enjoyable stay. I highly recommend the second or third levels on this building in order to enjoy the sunset views from the patio. We will return sooner then later!
When we walked in, we were amazed by the beautiful ocean view that can be seen from most of the condo. Wow! This unit has been redone very recently and is very tasteful. We loved the sound of the surf at night… We would recommend this to anyone! The only down side was the barbeque/pool area which was tiny and in need of an update.
Poipu Makai Unit A2
The unit we stayed at was incredible. We saw a humpback whale, a turtle, and a monk seal from our balcony. Great location -- close to Poipu beach. Very comfortable and we had everything we needed. Pool was small but we never used it, there is so much to do there