Poipu Makai #A1

1677 Pe'e Road #A1 , Koloa, HI 96756
2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms 4 Sleeps Poipu

Kauai Vacation Rentals is rated 4.52 out of 5. Based on 31 reviews from TripAdvisor, VRBO, Google, Booking.com and others.

This unique oceanfront property is situated on the edge of a bluff providing spectacular views of the blue Pacific and the entire Poipu coastline from each unit. This small property has only 15 units, providing privacy and intimacy while being just a short walk to the world renowned Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach. The sounds of the sea fill every room and each unit has full length lanais offering a great lookout for hours of watching turtles, dolphins, seasonal whales and brilliant sunsets.

The Parrish Collection is a locally owned and based real estate management company that specializes in vacation rentals on Kauai and Maui. Our collections of rentals are professionally managed by in-house staff with a commitment to personalized service, fine attention to detail and a true sense of Aloha. Our team looks forward to hosting you soon.

RESORT FEATURES

• Refreshing plunge pool
• Complimentary self parking upper and lower levels
• Community BBQ
• Access to The Parrish Collection Concierge and Activities services
• 24 hour emergency contact and response
• Daily maid service available (for additional charge)
• Check-in: 3:00 pm, check-out 10:00 am (late check-out upon availability for additional charge)

UNIT FEATURES

• Oceanfront, one-level floor plan, approximately 1,100 square feet
• Ground floor end unit, one level of stairs (down) to entry
• Interior Rating: Deluxe
• AC throughout
• 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms
• Master Bedroom Suite – king bed, AC, ocean view, TV, full bath with shower, oceanfront lanai and lawn
• Second Bedroom – two twin beds (convertible to king), AC, garden view, shared full bath with shower
• Flat Screen TV/DVD/CD stereo in living room, AC, oceanfront lanai and lawn
• Washer/dryer, wireless internet, in-room safe
• TA-202-565-0688-01
• GE-202-565-0688-01

  • Dryer
  • Garage
  • Ocean Front
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Washer
  • Water Front
  • Resort Pool
  • Resort Parking - Unassigned
  • Free Parking
  • Beach Essentials
  • Wireless Internet
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ground Floor Entry
  • One Level Floor Plan
  • End Unit
LEAVE A REVIEW
Judit says
August, 2023

Nice apparment, liked the furnitures and aminities.

Janice H. says
January, 2023

The location will always be a winner

The views from this rental are unparalleled! You’re up on a cliff and, from the patio with full ocean views, you watch a parade of whale and dolphin pods go by, breaching and spouting and playing. It’s a front row seat to sunset every night. The unit itself is showing some wear but I imagine in that climate it’s difficult. I would also check to see what maintenance is scheduled for during your stay as we experienced exterminators, rail sanding and painting on the units above, and palm tree pruning, the last two preventing us from using the patio at all during the work. All in all, though, we enjoyed our stay there.

Mahalo Janice for your review and comments.  We apologize on the property maintenance, the AOAO needed to get some work done on short notice.  However, this should not have prevented you from using the lanai.  I see we discussed the pest control and stated you asked if you could wait on the lanai, which we agreed.  We heard nothing more.  We wish you had said alerted us to this as we could have assisted.  In the future, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Dore B. says
January, 2023

The view!!!

Great experience from booking to stay to even the communication throughout. This property is ideal for activities and sunsets!!

Korey W. says
November, 2022

Parrish people were friendly and professional. Both times we stayed at different properties and each had their own positive qualities. The condo was clean, comfortable, and appropriately stocked. The bottle wine for my moms 80th birthday and parents anniversary was such a sweet touch.

Julie, Evergreen, CO says
September, 2022

Enjoyed our stay! Thank you!

Nicholas says
August, 2022

Our stay was wonderful - we particularly enjoyed the spacious unit and direct ocean views with nearby beach access.

Erin says
August, 2022

Place was clean and spacious, views were great. Unfortunately AC is really needed. Way too hot at night to sleep. I would not stay again due to that factor.

Aaron, Scottsdale, AZ says
July, 2022

Thank you for a lovely stay! I would definitely consider coming back to this location. The twin beds in the second bedroom are quite comfortable. The master bed should probably be replaced. The boxsprings have bowed, and the top mattress is sagging quite a bit. I loved the coffee LDT as a gift for us, thank you!!! I also appreciated the grocery bags. Kitchen is well appointed. Grateful for the fans. Kept it just right. Appreciated the boogie boards for our use. Sofa was super comfy. Views of course stellar. It wouldn’t take much to earn my fifth star, but perhaps the mattress and the older aesthetics contribute. Not a deal breaker at all (bed is a distraction for me) but worthy of 4 stars for sure.

Mahalo Aaron for your review. We appreciate your comments and feedback.  We are so glad that you have a lovely stay.  We will surely check on that boxspring and replace it if necessary. Thank you for letting us know.  We cannot wait to host you again soon.  Aloha.

Jo Carol J. says
March, 2022

Poipu Stay

Was a pleasant location.

Mark, Erie, PA says
March, 2022

We had a great time staying right on the ocean and watching whalkes each day. The place was awesome. We really enjoyed our stay t your place!

Mahalo Mark for your five-star review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to seeing you again soon.  Aloha and a hui hou!

alex p. says
March, 2022

Lucky on Ocean

The patio view is excellent! Beautiful sunsets. Excellent location, close to many things. The walking path to Hyatt and beyond is great! The interior was dated and the kitchen set-up is terrible. Cabinets are too high and doors hard to open. Parking is Tight! The outdoor table legs(2) were repaired with duct tape. The pool is tiny and water tempt cold. Overall enjoyed the stay(ocean, turtle & whales from patio) and would be Much better with some maintenance issues addressed.

Aloha Alex. We are sorry that you feel this was a 3-star stay. We checked in several times throughout your reservation to see if everything was alright or if you needed help with anything. If we knew you were having trouble reaching the cabinets, we would have helped you find the two stepstools for that purpose. The pool is not advertised as heated and clearly specifies that it is a plunge pool. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Aloha.

David, Irvine, CA says
November, 2021

Great Stay.

Mahalo!

Michele, Draper, UT says
November, 2021

Quiet complex with amazing views! Sunsets on the patio were amazing.

Mahalo Michele for your 5-star review and comments. We are already looking forward to hosting you again soon!

Rohan, Los Angeles, CA says
August, 2021

Beautiful condo with oceanside views.Only a 12 minute walk from Poipu Beach and an hour and 15 minute drive to Hanalei Bay. Definitely recommend staying here!

Jessica, Broomfield, CO says
August, 2021

A great location near the beach. We chose this location because of the lawn area. We have two toddlers and appreciated the extra room to explore - they loved the geckos and the chickens!

Charlie k. says
May, 2021

Easy stay

Great trip Nice place to stay Got a rental car by the skin of our teeth Great get away
Debi H says
January, 2020

Nice place to stay

This condo has a great view and is in an ideal location. Parking is easy and free. Nice walk down to the rocks to see sea turtles and spouting whales in the distance. As others have commented, the photos on the VRBO website may be a bit embellished. This condo could use an upgrade as it looks as if one has not been done in quite a while. The kitchen cabinet doors do not stay closed and the cabinets are very high. While someone mentioned the addition of a step stool, the one that was purchased is more like one that a toddler would use in a bathroom and is not sufficient. The drapes are heavy and very hard to push aside on the patio doors and windows. Like many places, there is no air conditioning although many fans are available, both portable and ceiling. Beach chairs and snorkeling equipment is available however also need to be replaced as they are sun rotted and falling apart. Nice to have a washer and dryer and a dishwasher. Enjoyed using the Roku to watch our favorite shows in the evenings. Lovely walk to the beach and great area for running/walking.
Aloha Debi. We are happy that you enjoyed the condo and its location. We agree that it is an incredible place to watch the turtles and whales pass by. We to go great lengths to be sure that are units are photographed and rated to accurately reflect the condo. This unit is rated as “Deluxe”, which by definition, is a well-maintained property, updated within the last ten years. We are sorry that you did not feel this was accurate, but I guarantee the photos are not embellished. We also apologize for any trouble you had with the cabinets not closing properly and will have that addressed in addition, we will replace the beach chairs and add a more adequate step-stool in the kitchen. Mahalo for those suggestions. In the future, please let us know anything needing attention while you are in house so we can make your stay more enjoyable. We try to catch all these things, but sometimes things can be missed. In the end, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again. A hui hou.
Michelle J. says
November, 2019

Good choice for accommodation in Poipu

We stayed in unit A1 for 4 beautiful days in Poipu. The unit was close to everything, though not walking distance., but that’s ok since we had a rental car—a must on Kauai. The unit was pretty with lots of character and a well-loved feel. It was quite dated though and will need an upgrade soon, along with minor repairs to window screens, shower plumbing, flooring, etc. The upper kitchen cupboards were so high, I could not reach anything in them. A foot stool in the kitchen would be useful for this purpose. We appreciated all the beach accessories. However, the snorkel gear needs replacing and some boogie boards would be a fun addition. A couple extra pillows for each bedroom would be a nice extra to have as well. Lastly, we never did find the pool that is supposed to be onsite, but we are more beach people so it didn’t matter to us like it would to others. All in all, a good choice for accommodation in Poipu!
Mahalo Michelle for your 5-star review and comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Poipu Makai #A1. We will be sure to look at the items that you mentioned and make the necessary repairs. We can also add a step stool. Mahalo for the suggestion. We look forward to hosting you again. A hui hou!
Walter C. says
November, 2019

Great location, great views, but condo needs updating

The waterfront location of this condo was remarkable with great views of the shore. Perfect location to watch the sun set and even see turtles in the morning. The location was also centralized in terms of access to golf, multiple beaches (even within walking distance -- 10 min), and a short drive to restaurants and shopping in Poipu and Koala. The location and views were great. The condo itself however was a bit disappointing, especially in comparison to where we stayed on the north side in Princeville just days before. The unit was clean enough and stocked with everything needed, which was great. But, the owners need to really consider updating the unit -- the pictures in the listing look a lot better than the actual condition of things inside. The floors were warped, door handles stick really bad almost to the point of not being able to open the second bedroom, the cupboards won’t stay closed, and the screens and sliding glass and windows are in rough shape. All of the portable fans are old and noisy. There is a binder in the unit with recommendations which is a nice attempt, but it is just a generic publication put out by the property management company with suggestions on the whole island. Nothing personal or location specific to this area or Poipu, so it didn’t provide much use. Overall, it is just showing it’s age and the pictures aren’t completely representative of what the unit actually looks like. During our stay the toilet broke and one of the fans never worked. We opened a maintenance ticket and both were fixed the next day, but just wish we didn’t have to deal with that on vacation. We really liked the location and views, but would have preferred something a bit more up to date and newer and cleaner than this turned out being. Would definitely stay in this area, just not this condo.
Aloha Walter. We appreciate your comments and feedback about the property. Our apologies for any inconvenience regarding the fan and toilet. Sometimes things fail despite all preparation, but we try to fix them as quickly as possible. We will be sure to have a look at the other items that you’ve mentioned and look to make any necessary refreshes/repairs where we can. We take a lot of care to be sure the properties are photographed and represented online as accurately as possible. We understand that everyone has different preferences when selecting units, which is why we are quite diligent about inspecting, rating and listing units by their interior rating. This unit is listed as a “deluxe”, which by definition, “has been updated within the last ten years”. For your next stay, we have several “premier” units (which are more recently updated or brand new) at Poipu Makai and elsewhere on the south shore. Next time we would be happy to help you find the perfect one to meet your needs. Lastly, on the guest directory, we went through great lengths to recommend areas of interest across the island (beaches, hiking trails, sites if interest) as we find most want to explore and people were requesting more. We are sorry you did not find it useful. Aloha.
kurt d. says
April, 2019

Spring Break 2019

Our family of 4 stayed at this property for a week. The unit was comfortable and clean. The ocean view is awesome. Our first morning we watched sea turtles swimming along the coastline. During the week we also saw whales swimming by. There are several great beaches very close to the unit, as well as many great restaurants and shopping.
Michele R. says
March, 2019

Great view for whale watching and sunset!

The property had everything we needed along with a great view!
Aspen B. says
January, 2019

Hear the Ocean waves crashing on the volcanic rock....

Was a beautiful place! The size of it was quite large and we slept so soundly every night hearing the ocean waves crashing on the volanic rock outside every night. Absolutely amazing! Sat out on the lanai during breakfast and for sunset, so magical! The beds were incredibly comfortable. Would stay here again for sure! Location was prime as well! Best beach on the island is right down the street, Poipu Beach, super sunny and calm waters!
kylie c. says
October, 2018

Great view

Has a great view of the ocean, beautiful sunsets and close to shopping and restaurants
Elliot J. says
June, 2018

Nice stay.

Just got home from Hawaii. Wish we were still there. We visited Maui and Kauai and rented on VRBO for both. While we enjoyed this property in Poipu, it was hard not to compare the two stays and this property did not live up to the standards of the Maui property. Plus, this property was more expensive. It was nice enough and overall it was a comfortable stay, but we did have issues with a few things. We thought not having A/C wouldn’t be much of an issue, but the main problem with that is things just don’t dry and you have to have all the windows open at all times or it just doesn’t cool. We rented a big SUV and parking was a problem. There was absolutely no spices to cook with. Salt and pepper only. Basic things would be nice. Hard to believe no one had left anything at all. The place could use some updatting, but it is still acceptable. The floor is probably the main issue. It’s so humid, it just isn’t staying down any longer. Just pointing out some flaws. The property is still nice and the view is great. I would still recommend this property. Probably my biggest complaint, however is their deposit policy. They required a $1,500 refundable deposit or a one time $69 non refundable insurance policy. I found the $1,500 deposit a little ridiculous, so I paid the $69. I don’t know how common this is, but I didn’t like it. Of course we didn’t break anything.
Mahalo Elliot for your review. Being directly on the ocean during a rainy spell can lead to high humidity. Because of that, we do not leave opened food items as they do not store well and we found people do not like using other people’s leftovers. We apologize for any confusion on the deposit, it is pretty much an industry standard. Mahalo for your stay and we hope to host you again soon on Kauai. A hui hou.
Robb O. says
January, 2018

Beautiful view, comfy beds and living room

The view is incredible. Step off the lanai, across the grass and you can see Hawaiin green turtles in the rocky shore below. The nighttime stars were mesmerizing. Unfortunately, the condo needs some updating -- older appliances, the floorboards are popping loose, and the curtains are hard to open/close.
Phaedra G. says
April, 2017

Great for the price in the Poipu area

The view was beautiful, garaunteed sunsets daily and falling asleep to the waves crashing was perfection. Interior is a bit dated but the available beach chairs, umbrellas etc make up for it. Poipu weather was sunny everyday whereas the north end of the island was quite rainy and cloudy. Must eat at the Beach House! Would probably stay here again and going to miss the view! Mahalo
slogrl says
March, 2014

Wonderful stay in Poipu!!

We spent five nights in A1 and they were all wonderful nights! Being on the bottom floor, we had a very large patio and grass area right in front. Our two children, ages 5 and 7 loved the freedom of being able to roam around the condo and we loved being near by to keep watch. From the grassy area, we could see turtles in the water below, waves splashing up over the lava rocks and beautiful rainbows in the sea spray. Though we could have walked to Poipu/Brennecke’s beach, we chose to drive so we didn’t have to schlep our stuff each way. Both beaches were great and each for a different purpose -- boogie boarding at one, snorkeling at the other. Best of both worlds. The house was very well equipped and comfortable. We loved having the washer and dryer and dishwasher. If we visit Poipu again, we would love the opportunity to stay at Makai A1 again!
Montana says
December, 2011

Can we come back today, please!!

We had a delightful stay at Poipu Makai a1. Everything in the condo was as beautiful and clean as shown in your advertisement. The owners have done a great job with decor and finding special little items all over the place was kind of like a treasure hunt, something new each day. Having all of the beach equipment we found was a definite plus. The fish we saw right off shore when we snorkled were so beautiful and friendly. We spent many amazing hours watching the turtles feed right in front of the condo. One day we saw spinner dolphins playing with several people on paddle boards, I now know why they are called “spinner” dolphins. All of the birds that come as soon as we opened the door in the morning were a deight, especially the little shorebird. Going to sleep with the sound of the waves and waking up to the doves is an experience I will never forget. The condo was furnished with everything we could possibly need. We went to the markets so we did most of our cooking right there. Sunshine Farmers Market was fantastic, I was like a kid in a candy store trying all of the different fruits. Fresh pineapple and apple bananas every day several times a day, my mouth waters even now. We took many walks and pictures and are now enjoying them at our snowy home in Montana. If anything was a challenge it would be the parking lot and getting out of the main entrance without hitting the underside of our car, but that was defintely outweighed by everything else. Our stay far exceeded our expecations and we will definitely be back. Julie Paul
Denver says
April, 2011

Amazing Oceanfront Lanai

This was a great room right on the ocean. We could here the waves crashing every night when we went to sleep. We’re ready to get rid of everything on the mainland and move to Kauai.
Salt Lake City says
April, 2011

Spectacular View

We were extremely pleased with all aspects of our stay from the amazing staff and beautiful view to the privacy and joy we experienced together.
California says
March, 2011

Best Winter Spot on Kauai

Wonderful location right on water with sounds and sunsets. Walk to best boogie-boarding beach on South Shore. Great coastline walks. Small, quite location.
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
May 2024
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03
$375
04
$375
05
$375
06
$375
07
$375
08
$375
09
$425
10 11
12 13 14 15 16
$375
17
$375
18
$375
19
$375
20 21 22 23 24 25
$375
26
$375
27
$375
28
$375
29 30 31  
June 2024
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04
$425
05
$425
06
$425
07
$425
08
$425
09
$425
10
$425
11
$425
12
$425
13
$425
14
$425
15
$425
16
$425
17
$425
18
$425
19
$425
20
$425
21
$425
22
$425
23
$425
24
$425
25
$425
26
$425
27
$425
28
$425
29
$425
30
$425
           
July 2024
S M T W T F S
  01
$425
02
$425
03
$425
04
$425
05
$425
06
$425
07
$425
08
$425
09
$425
10
$425
11
$425
12
$425
13
$425
14
$425
15
$425
16
$425
17
$425
18
$425
19
$425
20
$425
21
$425
22
$425
23
$425
24
$425
25
$425
26
$475
27
28 29 30 31      
August 2024
S M T W T F S
        01 02
$425
03
$425
04
$425
05
$425
06
$425
07
$425
08
$425
09
$425
10
$425
11
$425
12
$425
13
$425
14
$425
15
$425
16
$425
17
$425
18
$425
19
$375
20
$375
21
$375
22
$375
23
$375
24
$375
25
$375
26
$375
27
$375
28
$375
29
$375
30
$375
31
$375
September 2024
S M T W T F S
01
$375
02
$375
03
$375
04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13
$375
14
$375
15
$375
16
$375
17
$375
18
$375
19
$375
20
$375
21
$375
22
$375
23
$375
24
$375
25
$375
26
$375
27
$375
28
$375
29
$375
30
$375
         
October 2024
S M T W T F S
    01
$375
02
$375
03
$375
04
$375
05
$375
06
$375
07
$375
08
$375
09
$375
10
$375
11
$375
12
$375
13
$375
14
$375
15
$375
16
$375
17
$375
18
$375
19
$375
20
$375
21
$375
22
$375
23
$375
24
$375
25
$375
26
$375
27
$375
28
$375
29
$375
30
$375
31
$375
   
November 2024
S M T W T F S
          01
$375
02
$375
03
$375
04
$375
05
$375
06
$375
07
$375
08
$375
09
$375
10
$375
11
$375
12
$375
13
$375
14
$375
15
$375
16
$375
17
$375
18
$375
19
$375
20
$375
21
$375
22
$575
23
$575
24
$575
25
$575
26
$575
27
$575
28
$575
29
$575
30
$575
December 2024
S M T W T F S
01
$375
02
$375
03
$375
04
$375
05
$375
06
$375
07
$375
08
$375
09
$375
10
$375
11
$375
12
$375
13
$375
14
$375
15
$375
16
$630
17
$630
18
$630
19
$630
20
$630
21
$630
22
$630
23
$630
24
$630
25
$630
26
$630
27
$630
28
$630
29
$630
30
$630
31
$630
       
January 2025
S M T W T F S
      01
$630
02
$630
03
$630
04
$630
05
$630
06
$630
07
$520
08
$520
09
$520
10
$520
11
$520
12
$520
13
$520
14
$520
15
$520
16
$520
17
$520
18
$520
19
$520
20
$520
21
$520
22
$520
23
$520
24
$520
25
$520
26
$520
27
$520
28
$520
29
$520
30
$520
31
$520
 
February 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
$520
02
$520
03
$520
04
$520
05
$520
06
$520
07
$520
08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16
$520
17
$520
18
$520
19
$520
20
$520
21
$520
22
$520
23
$520
24
$520
25
$520
26
$520
27
$520
28
$520
 
March 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
$520
02
$520
03
$520
04
$520
05
$520
06
$520
07
$520
08
$520
09
$520
10
$520
11
$520
12
$520
13
$520
14
$520
15
$520
16
$520
17
$520
18
$520
19
$520
20
$520
21
$520
22
$520
23
$520
24
$520
25
$520
26
$520
27
$520
28
$520
29
$520
30
$520
31
$520
         
April 2025
S M T W T F S
    01
$465
02
$465
03
$465
04
$465
05
$465
06
$465
07
$465
08
$465
09
$465
10
$465
11
$465
12
$465
13
$465
14
$465
15
$465
16
$465
17
$465
18
$465
19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
    Available     Unavailable  Check-In Only  Check-Out Only

Detailed Quote
Save to favorites
Close Inquiry

Inquire about this property:

Request Info
Print