Makahuena #5203

1661 Pe'e Road #5203 , Koloa, HI 96756
2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms 4 Sleeps Poipu

Kauai Vacation Rentals is rated 4.94 out of 5. Based on 53 reviews from TripAdvisor, VRBO, Google, Booking.com and others.

Located on the southernmost point of Kauai, this unique oceanfront property is situated on the edge of a bluff providing spectacular views of the blue Pacific and the entire Poipu coastline from each unit. Incredible ocean views are the dominant feature of this resort which offers its guests a spacious swimming pool and sun deck, spa, tennis courts, and more. Situated on a bluff above the rocky shoreline on the Poipu coast there are great beaches, the Grand Hyatt Resort & Spa and the Poipu Bay Golf Course, all just a few blocks east or west

Our units are described, photographed and rated so you can pick the perfect island home for you and your family.

RESORT FEATURES

• Ocean view swimming pool and pool deck
• Tennis courts
• Complimentary self parking
• Community BBQ
• Access to The Parrish Collection Concierge and Activities services
• 24 hour emergency contact and response
• Daily maid service available (for additional charge)
• Check-in: 3:00 pm, check-out 10:00 am (late check-out upon availability for additional charge)

UNIT FEATURES

• One of the best locations in Poipu Beach – amazing sunset views
• Oceanfront, one-level floor plan, approximately 2,400 square feet, 2 steps down to living room from entrance
• Top floor, corner unit, one level of stairs to entry
• Air conditioning throughout
• Building 5 – Elima
• Several levels of steps from parking lot to entrance of the home
• Interior Rating: Premier Plus
• 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms
• Master Suite – king bed, ocean view, access to oceanfront lanai, TV, full bath with walk-in shower, double vanities, walk-in closet
• Second Bedroom – king bed (convertible to two twins), ocean view, TV, full bath with walk-in shower
• Great room design – open living room, dining room and kitchen with oceanfront lanai access, TV in kitchen, 2 steps down to great room
• Large flat screen TV/DVD
• Wrap around oceanfront lanai with dining, sitting and lounging areas
• Full size washer/dryer, wireless internet, in-room safe
• Ceiling fans throughout
• Tile floors throughout
• 60-day cancellation policy applies
• TA-045-161-8816-01
• GE-045-161-8816-01

  • Dryer
  • Jacuzzi
  • Washer
  • Resort Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Resort Parking - Unassigned
  • Beach Essentials
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ocean Front
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Water Front
  • One Level Floor Plan
  • End Unit
LEAVE A REVIEW
Andrea, California, United States says
February, 2022

Amazing property. Perfect.

Mahalo!

Mary says
January, 2022

Issues not resolved

Overall, it was good. There were a few issues:

1. Gave us the wrong keys.

2. Tv was off line, no connection. Had to go through several steps to get it to work.

3. Light in fan in guest bathroom was broken. 4. Lots of construction, so noise and difficult to find parking.

5. Got a 12 hour notice that water was going to be turned off from 10am-2pm.

6. Railing around lanai was loose so could not lean on it. Had to be very careful.

7. Ants on kitchen counter.

8. Issue with the oven. I have asked several times for a credit for all the issues/inconveniences, but manager hadn’t responded back to me.

We want to thank you for your review and bringing these items to our attention. This is the first time we have heard of any of these issues. We wish you had contacted us during your stay and before you checked out. Then, maybe we could have helped solved some of these. We have checked into the items you listed and have some feedback for you. We understand that you had immediate ability to occupy the unit as our management company provided you with a combo to the lockbox, with a key, at the front door of the unit. The TV problem was fixed right away, as it was a cable company problem. We e-mailed you before check-in and told you the cook top was working fine, but the surface was scared and a new one was on Island waiting to be installed. Things move very slowly on Kauai. The reason for the short notice on the water shut off was that it was an emergency repair for the entire complex and could not be avoided. The fan in the guest bedroom has been replaced and could have been done during your stay if we were aware. The unit is on a quarterly schedule for pest prevention treatment. Per an e-mail from the on-site manager, it was to be done the morning of your check-in. We will check to see why there were ants. Once again, the railing issue and construction noise is news to us, but they will be addressed with the on-site management immediately. We assume, since you began your review by saying, “Overall it was good" you enjoyed the oceanfront location, the extensive remodel of the unit and the ability to see turtles and dolphins during the day and the sunsets nightly from your lanai.

Rand B. says
December, 2021

It Doesn’t Get Any Better Than This

This condo is spectacular. It has the most amazing view you could possibly hope to get on any beach anywhere. Positioned just above the rocks, you see - and hear - the amazing sounds of the breaking waves. The condo itself is really spacious and beautifully laid out. The primary bedroom is on one end of the condo, and is big. The bathroom (and it is indeed a room unto itself) is a couple of steps higher than the rest of the room, and has sliding louvered doors that allow you to open them up to see the view, or close them for privacy. The secondary bedroom is smaller - though still plenty big, is located on the other side of the condo for privacy, and has it’s own in-suite bathroom as well. The furnishings are nice, with some really beautiful built-ins. The huge sectional is comfortable, and a perfect place to kick up your feet. But the star of the show is the huge terrace and the walls of glass that open up to that terrace and view. It was just two of us in that nice spacious condo. We didn’t use the second bedroom at all, but the condo is so nice that we were totally good with paying for a two-bedroom unit so we could get that view and location.

Finally a note about the owners. John and Trisha were so nice and helpful. We arrived at night, in the middle of a major storm. There were flooding concerns in the area, and we called both the management company and John and Trisha. They were wonderful. Everything worked out perfectly and they checked in on us multiple times to make sure everything was fine. So even though the property is managed by a prominent company on Kauai, the owners stay very much involved. They are there when you need them!

We’re already looking at returning next year. We loved it that much.

What a nice review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope you are able to return in the near future.

Katie T. says
December, 2021

Luxurious!

Beautiful property, excellent guest services for questions, and remarkable home! We saw turtles and dolphins right off the balcony and the sunsets….wow! Simply no better view. House was immaculately clean and updated - would stay again!

Thank you for your nice review. We also spend alot of our time on the lanai watching the turtles and other sea life. And yes, the year round sunsets are amazing.

Alex B. says
December, 2021

Great place to stay

Large modern condo as close to the ocean as one can get

Mahalo!

Gella S. says
September, 2021

Amazing House

We loved our stay here. The surf crashing up the rocks below our porch was amazing and the condo itself was well appointed. I will say that the AC in the guest room did not work really well at all. But otherwise our stay was great and our communication with the owners and management company terrific. Be aware that the unit was quite a walk away from the parking lot but the view and surf was the reward! Tons of turtles and one day we even watched dolphins jump by! And that relentless surf... Also to note, we are not well used to electric stovetop and used silver foil which melted into it. Both the owners and management company were so gracious about it!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We wished you would have discovered the Guest room air conditioning vent and thermostat earlier, as it would have improved your stay. With 2 large central air con systems, the bedrooms get very cool. Yes the cooktop was ruined, but now has been replaced. There is a ramp from the parking lot to the unit which helps getting to the Oceanfront. Getting to the best location on the property, as you said, is well worth it. Thanks again, we appreciate the nice comments.

Kelly, San Diego, CA says
July, 2021

This is definitely one of my favorite places I have stayed ever. Best views in Poipu, and the unit is gorgeous. It has everything you would ever need and more. The only thing I would change is that there were more days available so that we could have stayed longer!!

Annette C. says
October, 2019

Absolutely stunning!

This beautifully decorated and well equipped condo is only surpassed by the beauty of the ocean directly in front of the lanai. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time on the large lanai watching the ever changing ocean scene.

The location of this unit is ideal. It is within walking distance of two beautiful beaches and numerous restaurants.

The comfortable furniture, ocean views from every room, and the spacious layout allow for a relaxing uncluttered retreat. We would love to stay here again!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The Lanai is where we spend all our time. The turtles are ongoing entertainment.

Linda H. says
October, 2019

Everything was perfect!!!

Beautiful home and views! So clean. Very friendly staff! The key pad on the outside was not working and neither was the trash compactor but neither posed a problem as we did not need to use either of them.
Mahalo Linda for your 5-star review and feedback! Our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced with the trash compactor We will have someone take a look and make any necessary repairs right away. Thank you for letting us know. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Aloha and a hui hou!
Rosanne S. says
September, 2019

Excellent Vacation

First time in Kauai and I am convinced we stayed in the best condo on the island! This condo has plenty of space, a well stocked kitchen, and the best view on the island! It is beautifully decorated and has the most spacious ensuite I have ever seen. The location is incredible....we could have sat on the lanai all day and night. Definite bonus having a washer/dryer located in the condo unit. The property managers are very attentive and were able to fix an issue with the dishwasher within hours. Thank you for the beautiful flowers and sharing your home with our family. We will be back! Rosanne & Dave

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thanks for noticing some of the efforts we put into the unit to make it enjoyable. We hope you come back soon!

James K. says
August, 2019

GREAT STAY

We loved our stay at 5203, as the location of this Condo is better than anything we have seen on the islands.

From morning Coffee, to late afternoon drinks, just hanging out on The Lanai is worth the trip!!

Nathan D. says
July, 2019

Amazing vacation home

My family loved this home! It was spacious enough for the 4 of us yet we all spent most of our time together in the main living area. The views of the ocean were some of the best we had ever seen. We saw dolphins, sea turtles and stingrays swimming right outside our balcony. It’s a great location, you can see poipu beach from the property and there are lots of great restaurants and shops nearby.
Debbie F. says
June, 2019

Amazing condo!

This condo is a stunner. Pictures can't come close to explaining the beauty of the crashing wave formations from the lanai. Views from every room in the house. The upgrades are beautiful, but it's all about the 72 ft. lanai. We watched turtles every morning, and couldn\'t stop watching the waves. If you want oceanfront this is the place. I don't think there is a better property in Kauai. Loved it, and we will be back!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come back as soon as you can. The turtles are waiting!

Cindy C. says
May, 2019

Gorgeous like the pictures, epic vacation home!

Poipu had perfect weather, and there were some great beach options around. We got a little confused about the check-in process as I had forgotten when I got the contract weeks before departure that it was through a local agency handling the home for the owners. We just had to go by the office to pick up keys and it was no problem, so if you get confused, just go through your emails for the contract again! The home was very modern and cool, and it was nice the two bedrooms were on opposite sides of the condo for more privacy. The master suite was like a hotel! We definitely enjoyed our time watching the sunset and the crashing waves from the balcony.

We would definitely stay here again! Home came with beach towels and some chairs and a beach umbrella if you need it. The only downside is the condo is a little bit of a walk from the parking lot with some stairs involved so if you can't do stairs or carry your own luggage up and down it may not be your best option, but if you're able-bodied and don't mind that then it's really one of the most beautiful options for the area!

Thanks so much for writing a review. We hope you return to our oceanfront home soon. We wanted to mention there is a ramp, that avoids all the stairs from the parking lot behind building #2 all the way to our building and to our unit. It is a short stroll down a pathway to the most gorgeous views of all Kauai. Please come back.

B & L says
May, 2019

The Pictures Say It All!

We stayed at this condo late April 2019 for 5 nights. We picked this condo for a few reasons: it was right on the water, it had AC, and the pictures looked like it was a nice place inside and out. Well I can tell you that the pictures are exactly what we found! The interior was exactly as shown and the furnishings were very comfortable and everything was in good shape. The kitchen was wonderful to cook in, the bathrooms were nicely done with large showers, and everything was very clean. We especially enjoyed our time out on the wonderful covered lanai. It was very private with an amazing view of the sunset each evening, crashing waves, a constant stream of turtles in the water, several whale sightings (including a couple that breached right in front of us!), and a pod of dolphins. The outdoor furniture looked to be fairly new, it was comfortable and, and we spent most our our waking time while at the condo on the lanai. We were so sad we had to leave and we would definitely recommend it, we hope to return in the future. One note on the AC that I would like to mention. There are 2 units, one controls the main area and the other controls the 2 bedroom areas. The main area and the master bedroom cooled down nicely, but the 2nd bedroom was always rather stuffy and warm and a bit uncomfortable. It took about 6 hrs to get the place cooled down, but the AC was just great to have and worked very well in all rooms but the 2nd bedroom.
Mahalo B&L for your 5-star review and comments. Sounds like you had a wonderful time. We will be sure to get a technician to look at the second bedroom AC to ensure it ts working properly. We look forward to hosting you again soon. A hui hou.
Chris S. says
May, 2019

Location and quality of furnishings

Easy to check in and to check out plus very responsive when we contacted Parrish.
Adam S. says
April, 2019

It’s always better than expected. That’s so hard to say about any hotel.

Everyone was great. Always friendly and professional. I’ve rented from Parrish several times and plan to return in the future. We have recommended Parrish to all our friends. Why stay in hotel when you can stay in luxury and privacy. The location was amazing. The views were fantastic. Able to see turtles, pod of dolphins, and many whales. Even got to see a full breach. Parrish needs a strong social media platform. I know myself and friends would promote heavy. Your properties deserve more promotion. My biggest fear with this suggestion is letting others know about our secret. ????
Mahalo Adam for the 5-star review, comments and recommendations. Please check us out on Facebook and Instagram as we are very active there. Mahalo and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Ira & Emily says
February, 2019

If you want to see how the top 1% lives at a very reasonable rate then I recommend Makahuena Unit 5-203. I have travelled extensively and stayed at luxurious places; this is on par with the best of them. The wrap-around deck with ocean views, the open living areas and magnificent bathrooms and kitchen all make for a wonderful and rememberable trip. It helped that on the first day, we saw dolphins and sea turtles right from our window. I can not thank Kay at Maui Vacation Consultants enough for recommending and booking this property.
Anonymous says
October, 2018

Beautiful space and views.

This place is lovely, with a beautiful sleek interior and a great deck for wave watching. We counted sea turtles over our morning coffee. One huge bedroom and attached bath, and one smaller. Poipu is a fun little town, packed with history and great restaurants. Altogether a great stay.
Teresa F. says
October, 2018

Besides the outstanding unit it would be the ease of the booking process. The information provided was great and the staff was very attentative. The company had the best selection of units and offices on the island so your team members would be part of the community. Website was easy to use and had all the information you needed. It was the best equipped unit I have ever had. We rent at a minimum of two times a year and this was our 5th return to Kauai and it was the best condo unit we have had on the island. My only complaint was the pillows. For us they were too hard. Suggestion would be extra light in the 2nd bedrooom as it could be dark at night.
Mahalo Teresa for your review and comments. We hope to host you again soon.
Janice B. says
September, 2018

Perfection in Paradise

We could have spent the entire week on the lanai! The sites and sounds are amazing. The unit is beautiful and well-equipped. Hikes, beaches, restaurants… are all within walking distance or a short drive.
Thanks for your review. We also spend most of our time on the Lanai when we stay. We love watching the turtles. Please visit Kauai again.
John S. says
September, 2018

Breathtaking views

We recently celebrated our 25th Anniversary in Kauai. We looked at several homes on the island and decided to go “all in” on this one. When you arrive you are met by a spectacular picture of the Kauai Tree Tunnel. In fact, the entire home is filled with pictures from local photographers and each one adds a little”pop” to the room. When we booked this home we were a bit skeptical of the views that we would see. I assumed that the picture of water splashing by the lanai was never going to happen. I could not have been more wrong. It was constant. We could sit for hours at night, just listening to the waves crash against the rocks. On numerous occasions we could see Sea Turtles in the water. In the winter I would assume a few whales would be visible from the lanai too. We had great weather and the sunsets were spectacular. The kitchen is spacious with plenty of cookware. The master bedroom led out to the very large lanai and that was the first place we went to when we got up in the morning. The 2nd bedroom was perfect my my 2 boys. The bathrooms were very spacious and when we remodel our upstairs bathroom my wife wants to replicate the shower from this home. The home is a short walk to the beach and several local restaurants. I would also add that the owners (John & Trisha) were very receptive to questions before our trip. Despite the time difference they always got back to me promptly and gave me several suggestions on where to eat and snorkeling for the boys. The pool and community hot-tub were nice but we didn’t really spend much time there. There is nothing negative I can say about this home. We will most certainly be back.
Thanks John for taking the time to write your review. Please come back soon.
Anonymous says
August, 2018

Incredible view!!

Staying in this unit was one of the highlights of our Hawaii vacation! It truly is as advertised. We loved sitting on the lanai and watching the waves roll in and crash against the rocks and shoot through the blowhole. The condo had everything you needed for a great vacation. The decor was updated and the artwork of the island was gorgeous. It was nice to have the A/C too in the late afternoon -- which is a rarity in this complex. The pool was relatively quiet and enjoyable. The walk towards Shipwreck beach was a nice morning walk.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you plan to visit Kauai again soon.
AngeliqueC88 says
July, 2018

What a view! Unit 5203

This unit was amazing. I think it’s the best one at Makahuena truly. It has everything you need and is beautifully decorated and renovated. It has AC which is unusual at this complex. And the best part is sitting out on the lanai right on the water watching the waves roll in and crash against the rocks. We spent hours just watching this! I would highly recommend this condo for two couples or a family.

Angelique C. says
July, 2018

This was a fantastic unit with the best view on the island!

The internet had a repair which was handled within 48 hours.
Anonymous says
June, 2018

Awesome place

One of the best places I have rented in Hawaii! Very well stocked kitchen, towels and chairs for the beach. Incredible view and comfortable. Only wish would be to have stayed longer. It was as advertised and more.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We would love for you to come back again soon.
lorie c. says
June, 2018

TOTALY IMPRESSED

We are very picky in where we stay on our vacations and are big critics of most vacation rental homes. When we walked into this unit we were amazed at how nice it was. There was beautiful Koa wood doors and cabinets throughout. The décor and furnishings were first class and very tropical. No cheap stick Hawaiian furniture here. The view was fabulous with the ocean just below the lanai. The lanai was huge. The crashing ocean at night was very soothing. The central air conditioning really helped on a couple of warm days. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your home.
K Robert S says
May, 2018

Makahuena 5203

The condo was newly remodeled and newly furnished, it was lovely, but the view from the wrap around lanai was fabulous and unbeatable. We loved sitting out to watch the sunrise and set (not directly in front). Outside on the lanai it did get very hot during the late afternoon. Overall this was a beautiful, clean, well maintained condo with amazing directly on the ocean views. We never tired of the sound and look of the waves splashing on the rocks right below the condo. The air conditioning worked well for this springtime stay. It kept the master bedroom and bath, the main living, dining and kitchen areas cooled. It was not needed every fiat, but great to have when we did need it. The guest bedroom and bath do not have a/c. Access to the condo is quite a walk from the parking area. The community swimming pool and hot tub is right outside the condo, so that can be very noisy at times. Some of the time there were very loud talking adults and continuously screaming and playing children. This was a little annoying now and then, but overall we would stay here again. The noise echoed throughout the center of the complex and into that side of the home. The view of whales, turtles, crashing waves was amazing and very worth a stay. There are many amenities inside this condo making it very comfortable. The furniture was very new and the condo was very clean. We loved the lanai sliding doors that slide into the wall to open the entire front of the condo. The screens are clean, new and efficient which would make a difference during seasons with mosquitoes. Even though this is a very beautiful no smoking allowed condo, we did notice smoke coming from elsewhere on the property. The complex is nice, and as soon as all of the new roofing is finished, it will make the whole complex even nicer. As far as the beds and bedding, they were comfortable enough, but I like smoother and softer sheets. Choose this spacious and comfortable condo for a gorgeous, awe inspiring view.
Mahalo K Robert S for your 5-star review and comments. We will be sure to pass on the the smoking comment to the complex manager to ensure they are enforcing the rules correctly. Aloha and A hui hou.
Mike M says
May, 2018

Makahuena #5203 review

Have visited the Makahuena many times and the 1st time staying in this unit and was very pleased with the unit and all that it had to offer. I was very pleased with the furnishings and plan on making return trips and hopefully will be able to rent the unit again.
Stacy H. says
March, 2018

Perfect

If you want to be wowed when you walk in, have AC and see turtles everyday then stay here. Beautiful property that is also very functional. The layout of property was perfect. Impressive interior and lanai. Just loved my stay here! Thank you for maintaining such a beautiful property!! Lots of great memories made. We hope to be back!
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to having you visit again.
Cynthia T. says
March, 2018

Excellent

Pat Finberg was very helpful. I also thought the very young receptionist at the Poipu office was super friendly. The cleaning person who was arriving as we were leaving a was additionally extra friendly. The personnel we have met and worked with have all been the best. If the property description could include the last time the bed and bedding was replaced, that would be of super helpful interest to us. We also think an available wagon of some sort for the Makahuena property (5203) would be most helpful for convenience of moving groceries and luggage to and from the parking lot and condo. We liked the view and the comfort to be inside or outside even during rainy or sunshiny and hot weather. The whole wall sliding doors with superior screens were a fabulous treat. The properties offered by Parrish and the Parrish consistent property representation. In other words, Parrish properties are what is advertised by Parrish. I also like the rating system of the level of quality of furnishings. In almost every instance for our rentals fro Parrish, we have found the descriptions accurate. (Only one time a few years ago were we disappointed with the furnishings. I do wish they could get a handle on bed replacement as being part of the description.
Mahalo Cynthia for your review, comments and continued loyalty. We will look into how we can keep track of the mattress replacements and the wagon as that is a great idea…we will pass that on to the owner. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
David c. says
January, 2018

OUT FRONT RIGHT ON THE WATER

This is by far the nicest unit we have ever stayed in Hawaii. We have been coming to Maui and Kauai for 20 years and we were taken back when we saw the view from this unit. The crashing surf was less than 15 feet away. We saw turtles, dolphins and spinner dolphins the whole time while we were there. The interior has been completely redone in the best of taste. Really liked the view of the ocean from the Master Bathroom. Nice touch! Thanks for sharing your home.
Joe W. says
December, 2017

BEST VIEW IN ALL OF POIPU

We have stayed in a few resorts on Kauai, but none have been so close to the water as this one was. We use to stay at Whalers Cove, but heard this unit had air conditioning so we thought we would give it a try. The crashing surf was amazing and the sound of the water rocked us to sleep. The unit was totally remodeled in the best of taste. Nothing spared here. Lanai was unbelievable. Air conditioning really helped a couple of days.
adam w. says
December, 2017

A PERFECT HONEYMOON

We stayed in this unit for 8 nights and hardly ever left, as it is so nice. The views of the crashing water on the rocks and the coastline were like something you would see in an advertisement. We ate almost every meal on the very large lanai and got some good naps listening to the sound of the ocean right off our lanai. Interior was remodeled and very nicely done. The see through from the master bath to the ocean was special and really different. Loved the air conditioning as it was a little warm while we were there.
phil c. says
December, 2017

FIRST TRIP TO KAUAI

We have gone to Maui for several years and decided to try Kauai for this trip. The Island is lush and more beautiful than Maui. We stayed in a condo in the Makahuena development. It was the nicest place we have ever stayed in with very nice furnishings and attention to detail everywhere. It felt very Hawaiian. The view was the highlight as the unit sits right on the Ocean. We could hear the crashing surf in every room along with great sunsets. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Robert W. says
November, 2017

Great Place......but

This was by far the best view on the island. We had heavy surf crashing on the lava coast the entire week. The unit was nicely furnished and very comfortable with the exception of the second bedroom. There is no air conditioning in this room for some reason. The rest of the unit has air and with the high humidity, by leaving the lanai sliders open, the temps would make it uncomfortable to sleep. During our week’s stay at this unit, we knew going in that the complex was going to get new roofing. This roofing project was supposed to start on September 18th and begin with our unit. We didn’t think it would be too big of a problem dealing with the construction noise but when we arrived on October 11th (almost a full month after the project was to start), they were just getting a good start on the roof at our unit. One night we had a pretty good rain and spent a couple hours moving furniture and setting pots and pans around the unit to catch the rainwater coming through the roof. The condo management company did what they could but they didn’t have any control over the roofing contractors. Made our stay a bit less than perfect. I would say that if air was ducted into the 2nd bedroom and they get the roofing done, I would definitely give it 5 full stars. Oh ya, with the roofing project going on, they occupied several of the limited parking spaces in the lot. We did find a spot each day but it sure made it tight.
Thank you for writing a review of our property. We were a little surprised to hear you listed the issues with the roofing project as a negative to the unit and one of the reason you gave it a “4” instead of a “5” rating. As you say, the project was delayed and out of our control. You were called by our management company before your arrival and were offered to either be moved to another unit or to receive a 20% discount. You chose the 20% discount. The discount was given to you to compensate for any discomfort since you chose not to be moved. Most units on the South Shore do not have air conditioning and because of their construction constraints, never will. We went to great effort and expense to install 2 very large central separate units with 2 condensers to cover an 1800 square foot unit.
Diane S. says
September, 2017

JUST LIKE BEING ON A CRUISE SHIP

We had rented this owner’s home on Maui before and decided to go to Kauai this time and stay in their unit there. When you enter this beautiful unit and look out through the stacked sliders, you feel like you are on a Cruise Ship. Water everywhere as the unit sits on the very edge of Makahuena Point with the ocean straight below. They really spent some money and effort in remodeling this unit with koa wood everywhere. Everything is new and in the best of taste and quality. The Plantation look gives it a very tropical feel. It has central air, which is hard to find on Kauai, especially an Oceanfront unit, but we did not even use it, as we wanted to hear the waves crashing against the rocks. You won’t find a nicer unit or a better location.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Jim says
June, 2017

Same Great View But Everything Is Brand New With Air Conditioning

We stayed in this unit a year ago and loved it, but the weather on Kauai can get quite warm. They have now remodeled this unit and it has air conditioning. Additionally everything is new and done first class. The view is still the reason we came back as it is spectacular.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Jim D. says
April, 2017

Spectacular location

You are literally setting on the edge of the cliff with the water crashing on the rocks below. We took naps on the lanai listening to the waves. The unit is very large and has all things you would ever need. We saw turtles every day. We have stayed in this owner’s unit on Maui a few times, but our first visit to Kauai. We will definitely be back.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Ann G. says
April, 2017

Our Romantic Anniversary Getaway

We spent our Honeymoon in this unit and we just returned for our 3rd Anniversary. This is our favorite place to stay in all of Hawaii. It is always refreshing to walk through the front door and see the ocean crash right below the lanai. It makes you forget all your troubles back home. Kauai is our first choice and this unit is the most romantic spot we have ever found. Sunsets and the skies full of stars at night were fantastic during this trip. Hope to be back before our 5th
Thank you for your nice comments. Please come back soon.
Gary B. says
April, 2017

Water Everywhere!

We were amazed with the view. As you walk through this unit you see the ocean out every window and slider. We have never stayed so close to the water. We sat for hours and watched the turtles and dolphins. The unit was huge and had everything we needed. Thanks for letting us share your home.
Thank you for your nice review.
Geri W. says
March, 2017

Wow!

What a location. We were so surprised when we walked through the door and saw the view. Crashing surf, turtles, sunsets and much more. We were there for a short stay, then we went off to Maui. We wished we could have stayed longer. The unit was very large and full of supplies. We have never seen such a large lanai in all our visits to Hawaii.
Thank you Geri for taking the time to write your review. Please come back!
Trudy K. says
February, 2017

Wonderful condo with fabulous view

This place was amazing. Extremely well furnished. The view was fantastic. Short walk to beach. No AC but it was not needed after the sun went down. I would really recommend it
Mahalo Trudy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Makahuena soon. Aloha!
Trudy K. says
February, 2017

Beautiful unit and great location
lorie c. says
December, 2016

NO QUESTION, THIS IS OCEANFRONT

We have traveled to Hawaii many times over the years and have experienced different units that are called “Oceanfront”. None compare to this place. You literally can get sprayed on the lanai. The surf here is very active and soothing. We will be back!
Thank you for such a nice review
Ken says
December, 2016

LOVED THE LANAI

I could not get my wife to come in from the Lanai. She spent all her time, and mine too, outside. It is a huge wrap around lanai and the unit sits right on the Ocean. We ate our meals, took naps and watched some of the most beautiful sunsets from this lanai. This is a very private corner unit. We hated to leave.
Thank you for taking the time to write the review
Anonymous says
October, 2016

RIGHT ON THE OCEAN

We stayed in this unit for 8 nights and never got tired of hearing the crashing of the ocean waves. You could not get any closer to the water. With the condo in the front of the complex, it is also very private. The interior is large, but we spent most of our time on the huge lanai. Everyday, we saw turtles swimming in the cove. It was everything promised and more. Thanks for sharing your home with us.
Thank you for your comments. Please come back.
Steve W. says
September, 2016

Very Romatic Spot

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your incredible condo. This unit was the main ingredient to the most memorable vacation we have ever taken. Everything we needed and wanted was at the condo. The views were incredible, and the location, in our opinion, was the best on the Island. The sunsets on the lanai were priceless and looked like something out of a magazine ad. We saw so many turtles that we lost count. We plan on coming back and will definitely recommend this unit to everyone heading that way. Once again, thank you very much for making our 10th anniversary one we will never forget.
Thank you very much for your nice review. Please come back again for another Anniversary.
Dana B. says
August, 2016

What a Location!

We have been to Kauai a few times, but never stayed at Makahuena at Poipu. This was a very pleasant surprise, especially the unit we stayed in. It has to have the best location in the complex. The views of the crashing surf and sunsets were spectacular. The suite was quite roomy and the wrap around lanai was huge. Everything you would need was furnished and furnished well. We will definitely return.
jblack says
August, 2016

Perfect Spot

We stayed 10 days in this lovely condo and it was perfect for our family of four. The sound of the ocean could be heard throughout the unit as you could not get closer to the crashing surf. The location was close to beaches, restaurants and many walking paths to take. The view was amazing. We saw whales, dolphins and sea turtles from the Lanai. Just Perfect!
Thank you, your feedback is appreciated.
Anonymous says
August, 2016

A Great Happy Honeymoon Spot

We came to Poipu for our honeymoon. We stayed in this unit based on the reviews and were not disappointed. It has 180 degree views of the ocean and it could not be closer to the water. We had flawless weather for 8 days and maximized the use of the huge lanai for all our meals. It’s walking distance to Poipu Beach where we went snorkeling. Nights were so relaxing listening to the crashing surf all night long. I’m certain we’ll be back to celebrate anniversaries at this romantic spot.
We are so glad you had a great Honeymoon at our unit. It a nice romantic location and hope you will come back on your Anniversaries.
Jim says
July, 2016

"Front Row" location

We just stayed 10 nights in this lovely unit and enjoyed ourselves every minute. It could not be any closer to the water as it is truly “Front Row”. We ate all our meals and watched the sunsets on the huge wrap around lanai. We slept like babies being rocked to sleep by the ocean waves. We have already booked next year and will be thinking of our next visit throughout the year.
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
Greg G. says
May, 2016

Easy reservation process, credible property descriptions, friendly & helpful staff. Check-in/check-out was simple. I don’t recall the name of the person who checked us in, but she was very helpful. We arrived about 90 minutes before check-in time and she immediately contacted the property owner to see if we could get in a bit early. The property location is excellent, and is well-stocked and welcoming. We look forward to our next visit and will definitely look at Parrish properties, including Makahuena 5203. Thank you, Greg Gethers
May 2022
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
June 2022
S M T W T F S
      01
$625
02
$625
03
$625
04
$625
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29
$625
30
$625
   
July 2022
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24
$625
25
$625
26
$625
27
$625
28 29 30
31            
August 2022
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07
$625
08
$625
09
$625
10
$625
11
$625
12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22
$595
23
$595
24
$595
25
$595
26
$595
27
$595
28
$595
29 30 31      
September 2022
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18
$595
19
$595
20
$595
21
$595
22
$595
23 24
25 26 27 28 29
$595
30
$595
 
October 2022
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11
$595
12
$595
13
$595
14
$595
15
$595
16
$595
17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24
$595
25
$595
26
$595
27
$595
28
$595
29
$595
30
$595
31          
November 2022
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18
$725
19
$725
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
December 2022
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04
$595
05
$595
06
$595
07
$595
08
$595
09
$595
10
$595
11
$595
12
$595
13
$595
14
$595
15
$595
16
$595
17
$725
18
$725
19
$725
20
$725
21
$725
22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
January 2023
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
February 2023
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28        
March 2023
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
$720
05
$720
06
$720
07
$720
08
$720
09 10 11
12 13
$720
14
$720
15
$720
16
$720
17
$720
18
$720
19
$720
20
$720
21
$720
22
$720
23
$720
24
$720
25
$720
26
$720
27
$720
28
$720
29
$720
30
$720
31
$720
 
April 2023
S M T W T F S
            01
$720
02
$720
03
$720
04
$720
05
$720
06
$720
07
$720
08
$720
09
$720
10
$720
11
$720
12
$720
13
$720
14
$720
15
$720
16
$720
17
$650
18
$650
19
$650
20
$650
21
$650
22
$650
23
$650
24
$650
25
$650
26
$650
27
$650
28
$650
29
$650
30
$650
           
May 2023
S M T W T F S
  01
$650
02
$650
03
$650
04
$650
05
$650
06
$650
07
$650
08
$650
09
$650
10
$650
11
$650
12
$650
13
$650
14
$650
15
$650
16
$650
17
$650
18
$
19
$
20
$
21
$
22
$
23
$
24
$
25
$
26
$
27
$
28
$
29
$
30
$
31
$
     
    Available     Unavailable  Check-In Only  Check-Out Only

Detailed Quote
Save to favorites
Close Inquiry

Inquire about this property:

Request Info
Print